What is a unit convention?

In its letter dated 21 July 1985 to all National Spiritual Assemblies, the Universal House of Justice provided guidance regarding the election of delegates to a National Convention on the basis of electoral units, and thus introduced a uniform method of electing delegates to National Conventions throughout the world.

The unit convention represents the first step in the process of electing our National Spiritual Assembly for the coming administrative year. Participating in the unit convention in your area is thus a “privilege and spiritual responsibility” that contributes to the administrative structure envisioned by Bahá’u’lláh.

The unit convention consists of two principle parts: (1) the election of delegates, who will be responsible for electing the National Spiritual Assembly, and (2) the consultation of the believers present at the convention on matters raised by the National Spiritual Assembly, as well as others of national concern. For this reason, attendance at the unit convention, in addition to voting, is strongly encouraged. Indeed, in a letter written on his behalf, the Guardian stressed

the importance of reminding the believers that they should make every effort to attend the meeting for the election of the State or Province delegate, in order to stimulate a larger group consciousness which will greatly facilitate the process of the believers becoming acquainted with each other, and provide an intermediary stage — which will become increasingly valuable and necessary between the local organization, represented by the group or assembly, and the national collective action, represented by the activities of the Convention and the institution of the National Assembly.

Regarding participation in Bahá’í elections, the House of Justice has further stated:

The manner of participation by all adult members of the community in these elections is a distinguishing feature of the System of Bahá’u’lláh; for it is a bounden duty that confers a high privilege upon every Bahá’í to select, as a responsible citizen of the new world being brought into existence, the composition of the institutions having authority over the functioning of the Bahá’í community. In this regard, indifference and neglect on the part of any believer are alien to the spirit of the Cause. The friends must strive ceaselessly to avoid being contaminated with these destructive attitudes, which have inflicted such damage on the integrity and authority of the institutions of a declining world order.

When the House of Justice called for its worldwide implementation in 1985, it expressed hope that the electoral unit system “will promote Bahá’í solidarity, broaden the basis of representation at the National Conventions and that thereby the work of the Faith in each country will be characterized by greater efficiency and enhanced harmony.” By participating in the unit convention, we engage in a process that aims both to reflect and cultivate the aspirations of the Universal House of Justice.

… Throughout the entire planet the devoted followers of Bahá’u’lláh are labouring to develop further the Bahá’í Administrative Order described by the Guardian “not only as the nucleus but the very pattern of the New World Order,” thus setting the foundation for a world civilization destined to yield its dazzling splendour in the centuries to come.

Qu’est-ce que c’est un congrès de circonscription?

Dans sa lettre du 21 juillet 1985, la Maison universelle de justice donnait des directives à toutes les assemblées spirituelles nationales pour que l’élection des délégués devant participer aux congrès nationaux soit basée sur des circonscriptions électorales. Elle établissait ainsi, partout dans le monde, une méthode uniforme pour l’élection des délégués devant participer aux congrès nationaux.

Le congrès de circonscription est la première étape de l’élection de l’Assemblée spirituelle nationale pour l’année à venir. La participation au Congrès de circonscription de votre région est donc à la fois « un privilège et une responsabilité spirituelle » , qui contribue au développement de la structure administrative conçue par Bahá’u’lláh.

Les congrès de circonscription comportent deux parties: (1) l’élection des délégués qui seront responsables d’élire l’Assemblée spirituelle nationale et (2) les délibérations des croyants présents sur les questions soulevées par l’Assemblée spirituelle nationale et sur d’autres questions nationales. C’est pour cette raison qu’on encourage les amis à voter, mais aussi à assister à leur congrès de circonscription. Dans une lettre écrite de sa part, le Gardien insistait sur

le fait qu’il est important de rappeler aux croyants qu’ils devraient faire tous les efforts possibles pour assister à la réunion lors de laquelle les délégués de l’État ou de la province sont élus, de manière à stimuler une plus grande conscience du plus grand groupe, ce qui facilite le processus par lequel les croyants apprennent à se connaitre et crée une étape intermédiaire, qui deviendra progressivement plus utile et nécessaire, entre l’organisation locale, représentée par le groupe ou l’assemblée, et l’action collective nationale, représentée par les activités du congrès [national] et de l’institution de l’assemblée nationale. [traduction]

À propos de la participation aux élections bahá’íes, la Maison de justice a, de plus, déclaré :

La participation de tous les membres adultes de la communauté à ces élections est une caractéristique distinctive du Système de Bahá’u’lláh; car c’est un devoir impérieux qui confère à chaque bahá’í le grand privilège de sélectionner, en tant que citoyen responsable de ce nouveau monde qui est en train de voir le jour, la composition des institutions ayant autorité sur le fonctionnement de la communauté bahá’íe. À cet égard, l’indifférence et la négligence de la part de tout croyant sont étrangères à l’esprit de la Cause. Les amis doivent sans cesse s’efforcer d’éviter d’être contaminés par ces attitudes destructives, qui ont infligé de tels torts à l’intégrité et l’autorité des institutions d’un ordre mondial en décadence.

Quand, en 1985, la Maison de justice a demandé que le système de circonscriptions électorales soit adopté partout dans le monde, elle a dit espérer qu’il « encouragerait la solidarité bahá’íe, élargirait la base de représentation des congrès nationaux et que, de ce fait, le travail de la Foi dans chaque pays serait caractérisé par une efficacité et une harmonie accrues. » En participant au congrès de circonscription, nous prenons part à un processus qui a pour but de refléter et de concrétiser les aspirations de la Maison universelle de justice.

Partout dans le monde, les disciples dévoués de Bahá’u’lláh travaillent à développer davantage l’Ordre administratif bahá’í décrit par le Gardien « non point seulement comme le noyau, mais comme la structure même du nouvel ordre mondial » posant ainsi la base d’une civilisation mondiale destinée à produire son éclat dans les siècles à venir.